Partner station Partner Stations
Observer station Observer Stations

The Field Sites of INTERACT

The INTERACT infrastructure network is an existing and proven effective network of 79 terrestrial field bases throughout the Arctic. This network strategically samples the wide environmental and land-use envelopes of the Arctic and is also geographically diverse. It provides a wide range of disciplinary observations and research and gives outreach at all levels from shool students to Government Ministers. 43 of the stations offer Transnational Access to user groups via INTERACT Transnational Access programme.

These infrastructures already provide and facilitate the research and observations that contribute to major environmental assessments such as the Millennium Assessment of Ecosystems, the Arctic Climate Impact Assessment, IPCC and the current Arctic Council’s Cryosphere Assessment (SWIPA, but the demands for innovative observation, research and outreach are accelerating.

To the network of INTERACT field bases is added an increasing number of stations with Observer Status.